I bid farewell to you

This is an Arabic poem and song that I originally translated to English in December 2014.

I bid you farewell, with tears at my eyes;
I bid you farewell, with you before my eyes.
I bid you farewell, while in my heart is a flame,
From which pours forth the longing of nostalgia.

I see you going away, and you do not return;
I almost cry out “My brothers, take me!”
For I cannot endure a life in which I do not see you
With my eyes, and you have separated from me.

O my brothers in God, you were,
During tragedy, the best of helpers to me.
And you were, in a path of thorns, a rose,
Which wafts about the scent of its fragrance from the branches.

And if we meet not in this land for a day,
And the cup of death makes a separation between us,
Then our appointment on the morrow is in an eternal abode,
in which the lover lives beside the lover.

I bid you farewell, with tears at my eyes;
I bid you farewell, with you before my eyes.
I bid you farewell, while in my heart is a flame,
From which pours forth the longing of nostalgia.

O you who travel upon life
And you who dwell within my heart…
Have you heard me agonizing,
And the world agonizing with me?

And if we meet not in this land for a day,
And the cup of death makes a separation between us,
Then our appointment on the morrow is in an eternal abode,
in which the lover lives beside the lover.

Arabic text:

أودعكم بدمعات العيونِ *** أودعكم وأنتم لي عيوني
أودعكم وفي قلبي لهيب *** تجود به من الشوق شجوني

أراكم ذاهبين ولن تعودوا *** أكاد أصيح إخواني خذوني
فلست أطيق عيش لا تراكم *** به عيني وقد فارقتموني

ألا يا إخوة في الله كنتم *** على المأساة لي خير معينِ
وكنتم في طريق الشوك ورداً *** يفوح شذاه عطر من غصوني

لئن لم نلتقي في الأرض يوماً *** وفرق بيننا كأس المنونِ
فموعدنا غدا في دار خلدٍ *** بها يحيا الحنون مع الحنونِ

يا راحلين عن الحياة *** وساكنين بأضلعي
هل تسمعون توجعي *** وتوجع الدنيا معي

لئن لم نلتقي في الأرض يوماً *** وفرق بيننا كأس المنونِ
فموعدنا غداً في دار خلدٍ *** بها يحيا الحنونُ مع الحنونِ

Leave a Reply

